- The Art of Manliness - http://www.artofmanliness.com -

The Best of Art of Manliness 2008

Posted By Brett & Kate McKay On January 1, 2009 @ 12:13 pm In Blog | 11 Comments

sullivan

It’s been an awesomely manly year here at The Art of Manliness. When we launched the site a year ago on January 4, 2008, we didn’t think the AoM community would get this big, this fast. In just a year, AoM has grown to almost 25K subscribers. The growth of the site has been driven by our fantastic readers. Thank you for being evangelists of manliness [1] and thanks for the tips and feedback on stories. We also want to thank those who have taken the time to send us encouraging words via email. Kate and I are truly grateful for the support. Finally, we’d like to give a big thank you to all of our guest contributors who have provided quality articles for the site.

We’re also very excited about the Art of Manliness book which will be coming in Fall 2009. Kate and I have been working hard on it for many months and the manuscript is just about done.

Because it’s pretty much impossible to avoid the “Best of…..” lists this time of year, we figured there’s no sense in resisting the urge to create one of our own. For our new readers and as a review for our old readers, we present the Best of Art of Manliness 2008. We hope you’ve enjoyed AoM during 2008, and rest assured we’ll be working to make 2009 an even better and manlier year. Cheers!

January 2008

How To Shave Like Your Grandpa [2]

Every Man Should Do This Exercise Routine Every Day [3]

Lessons In Manliness From the Gladiator [4]

Increase Your Manly Confidence Overnight [5]

Stop Hanging Out With Women and Start Dating Them [6]

February 2008

Talk Like Frank Sinatra [7]

Make Yourself Stick With These First Impression Tips [8]

How To Ask For (And Get) A Raise Like a Man [9]

The 10 Worst Products For Men Ever Created [10]

Write A Love Letter Like A Soldier [11]

We also started a series looking at applying Ben Franklin’s 13 Virtues. This was one of our most popular series. See the wrap up [12] to read all the posts.

March 2008

The Mechanics of the Man Hug [13]

Bringing Back the Hat [14]

14 Ways To Affair Proof Your Marriage [15]

Building The Perfect Dopp Kit [16]

So You Want To Become a Man [17]

April 2008

How To Break Down A Door [18]

How To Snag a Souvenir Baseball [19]

9 Ways To Start a Fire Without Matches [20]

Every Man Should Carry a Pocket Knife [21]

How to Leave the Perfect Voicemail [22]

May 2008

100 Must-Read Books: The Essential Man’s Library [23]

Rediscovering the Barbershop [24]

How To Survive and Thrive In a Street Fight in 8 Simple Steps [25]

How Do You Know When She’s the One? [26]

Asking a Woman’s Father For Her Hand In Marriage [27]

June 2008

Quit Coddling Your Kids [28]

The All-Time Best (And Worst) TV Dads [29]

How To Properly Rock A Pocket Square [30]

The 15 Greatest Man Cries (Plus 5 Dishonorable Mentions) [31]

The Gentleman’s Guide To Tipping [32]

July 2008

The Ultimate Man’s Guide to Fireworks [33]

Do More Than One Stinking Pull-Up [34]

10 Outdated Men’s Fashions That Still Have The Charm [35]

10 Steps to the Best Best Man Speech [36]

Shine Your Shoes Like A Soldier [37]

August 2008

The 35 Greatest Speeches in History [38]

The Uncle Buzz Workout: How to Get in Shape Without the Gym [39]

52 Workout Songs To Help You Get Bigger, Stronger, and Faster [40]

10 Manly Feats of Strength [41]

Be a Modern Knight: Protecting Your Lady in the 21st Century [42]

September 2008

The Gentleman’s Guide to the Calling Card [43]

Mayday! Mayday! How to Land a Plane in an Emergency [44]

How To Jump Start a Car [45]

The Bushido Code: The Eight Virtues of the Samurai [46]

The 10 Manliest Sea Shanties [47]

October 2008

Your Grandpa’s Babes [48]

The Art of Manliness Free Man Cookbook [49]

The Art of Thank You Note Writing [50]

Become a Morse Code Expert [51]

How to Pack a Bag When Traveling [52]

November 2008

6 Lessons in Manliness from James Bond [53]

20 Manliest Mustaches and Beards From Facial Hair History [54]

How To Cook and Carve a Thanksgiving Turkey Like a Man [55]

Growing a Manly Beard [56]

Three Steps to Building Your Individual Style [57]

December 2008

The Art of Manliness Manly Holiday Gift Guide [58]

6 Holiday Style Tips For Men [59]

How To End a Relationship Like a Man [60]

25 of the Greatest Self-Made Men in American History [61]

Every Man Needs Adventure [62]

Finally, make sure to check out our archives [63] for even more manly articles.


Article printed from The Art of Manliness: http://www.artofmanliness.com

URL to article: http://www.artofmanliness.com/2009/01/01/the-best-of-art-of-manliness-2008/

URLs in this post:

[1] being evangelists of manliness: http://www.artofmanliness.com/become-an-evangelist-of-manliness/

[2] How To Shave Like Your Grandpa: http://www.artofmanliness.com/2008/01/04/how-to-shave-like-your-grandpa/

[3] Every Man Should Do This Exercise Routine Every Day: http://www.artofmanliness.com/2008/01/08/every-man-every-day-should-do-these-exercises/

[4] Lessons In Manliness From the Gladiator: http://www.artofmanliness.com/2008/01/26/lessons-in-manliness-from-gladiator/

[5] Increase Your Manly Confidence Overnight: http://www.artofmanliness.com/2008/01/10/increase-your-manly-confidence-overnight/

[6] Stop Hanging Out With Women and Start Dating Them: http://www.artofmanliness.com/2008/01/16/stop-hanging-out-with-women-and-start-dating-them/

[7] Talk Like Frank Sinatra: http://www.artofmanliness.com/2008/02/11/talk-like-frank-sinatra/

[8] Make Yourself Stick With These First Impression Tips: http://www.artofmanliness.com/2008/02/19/make-yourself-stick-with-these-first-impression-tips/

[9] How To Ask For (And Get) A Raise Like a Man: http://www.artofmanliness.com/2008/02/17/how-to-ask-for-and-get-a-raise-like-a-man/

[10] The 10 Worst Products For Men Ever Created: http://www.artofmanliness.com/2008/02/27/the-10-worst-products-for-men-ever-created/

[11] Write A Love Letter Like A Soldier: http://www.artofmanliness.com/2008/02/13/write-a-love-letter-like-a-soldier/

[12] wrap up: http://www.artofmanliness.com/2008/06/01/the-virtuous-life-wrap-up/

[13] The Mechanics of the Man Hug: http://www.artofmanliness.com/2008/03/07/the-mechanics-of-the-man-hug/

[14] Bringing Back the Hat: http://www.artofmanliness.com/2008/03/01/bringing-back-the-hat/

[15] 14 Ways To Affair Proof Your Marriage: http://www.artofmanliness.com/2008/03/13/14-ways-to-affair-proof-your-marriage/

[16] Building The Perfect Dopp Kit: http://www.artofmanliness.com/2008/03/18/building-the-perfect-dopp-kit/

[17] So You Want To Become a Man: http://www.artofmanliness.com/2008/03/20/so-you-want-to-become-a-man/

[18] How To Break Down A Door: http://www.artofmanliness.com/2008/04/08/how-to-break-down-a-door/

[19] How To Snag a Souvenir Baseball: http://www.artofmanliness.com/2008/04/15/how-to-snag-a-souvenir-baseball/

[20] 9 Ways To Start a Fire Without Matches: http://www.artofmanliness.com/2008/04/29/9-ways-to-start-a-fire-without-matches/

[21] Every Man Should Carry a Pocket Knife: http://www.artofmanliness.com/2008/04/01/every-man-should-carry-a-pocket-knife/

[22] How to Leave the Perfect Voicemail: http://www.artofmanliness.com/2008/04/22/how-to-leave-the-perfect-voicemail/

[23] 100 Must-Read Books: The Essential Man’s Library: http://www.artofmanliness.com/2008/05/14/100-must-read-books-the-essential-mans-library/

[24] Rediscovering the Barbershop: http://www.artofmanliness.com/2008/05/20/rediscovering-the-barbershop/

[25] How To Survive and Thrive In a Street Fight in 8 Simple Steps: http://www.artofmanliness.com/2008/05/06/how-to-win-a-street-fight-in-7-simple-steps/

[26] How Do You Know When She’s the One?: http://www.artofmanliness.com/2008/05/08/how-do-you-know-when-shes-the-one/

[27] Asking a Woman’s Father For Her Hand In Marriage: http://www.artofmanliness.com/2008/05/15/asking-a-womans-father-for-her-hand-in-marriage/

[28] Quit Coddling Your Kids: http://www.artofmanliness.com/2008/06/03/quit-coddling-your-kids/

[29] The All-Time Best (And Worst) TV Dads: http://www.artofmanliness.com/2008/06/10/the-all-time-best-and-worst-tv-dads/

[30] How To Properly Rock A Pocket Square: http://www.artofmanliness.com/2008/06/15/how-to-fold-a-pocket-square/

[31] The 15 Greatest Man Cries (Plus 5 Dishonorable Mentions): http://www.artofmanliness.com/2008/06/22/15-great-men-that-cried/

[32] The Gentleman’s Guide To Tipping: http://www.artofmanliness.com/2008/06/24/gentlemans-guide-how-much-should-tip/

[33] The Ultimate Man’s Guide to Fireworks: http://www.artofmanliness.com/2008/07/01/the-ultimate-guide-to-best-fireworks/

[34] Do More Than One Stinking Pull-Up: http://www.artofmanliness.com/2008/07/08/pull-ups-fitness-routine/

[35] 10 Outdated Men’s Fashions That Still Have The Charm: http://www.artofmanliness.com/2008/07/06/vintage-charming-mens-fashion/

[36] 10 Steps to the Best Best Man Speech: http://www.artofmanliness.com/2008/07/22/how-to-write-deliver-good-best-man-speech/

[37] Shine Your Shoes Like A Soldier: http://www.artofmanliness.com/2008/07/29/how-to-get-the-best-shoe-shine/

[38] The 35 Greatest Speeches in History: http://www.artofmanliness.com/2008/08/01/the-35-greatest-speeches-in-history/

[39] The Uncle Buzz Workout: How to Get in Shape Without the Gym: http://www.artofmanliness.com/2008/08/14/the-uncle-buzz-workout-how-to-get-in-shape-without-the-gym/

[40] 52 Workout Songs To Help You Get Bigger, Stronger, and Faster: http://www.artofmanliness.com/2008/08/05/52-workout-songs-to-help-you-get-bigger-stronger-and-faster/

[41] 10 Manly Feats of Strength: http://www.artofmanliness.com/2008/08/21/manly-feats-of-strength/

[42] Be a Modern Knight: Protecting Your Lady in the 21st Century: http://www.artofmanliness.com/2008/08/12/be-a-modern-knight-protecting-your-lady-in-the-21rst-century/

[43] The Gentleman’s Guide to the Calling Card: http://www.artofmanliness.com/2008/09/07/the-gentlemans-guide-to-the-calling-card/

[44] Mayday! Mayday! How to Land a Plane in an Emergency: http://www.artofmanliness.com/2008/09/16/how-to-land-an-airplane/

[45] How To Jump Start a Car: http://www.artofmanliness.com/2008/09/11/how-to-jump-start-a-car/

[46] The Bushido Code: The Eight Virtues of the Samurai: http://www.artofmanliness.com/2008/09/14/the-bushido-code-the-eight-virtues-of-the-samurai/

[47] The 10 Manliest Sea Shanties : http://www.artofmanliness.com/2008/09/23/the-10-manliest-sea-shanties/

[48] Your Grandpa’s Babes: http://www.artofmanliness.com/2008/10/21/your-grandpas-babes/

[49] The Art of Manliness Free Man Cookbook: http://www.artofmanliness.com/2008/10/08/man-cookbook/

[50] The Art of Thank You Note Writing: http://www.artofmanliness.com/2008/10/23/the-art-of-thank-you-note-writing/

[51] Become a Morse Code Expert: http://www.artofmanliness.com/2008/10/09/morse-code/

[52] How to Pack a Bag When Traveling: http://www.artofmanliness.com/2008/10/16/how-to-pack-a-bag-when-traveling/

[53] 6 Lessons in Manliness from James Bond: http://www.artofmanliness.com/2008/11/13/6-lessons-in-manliness-from-james-bond/

[54] 20 Manliest Mustaches and Beards From Facial Hair History: http://www.artofmanliness.com/2008/11/02/20-manliest-mustaches-and-beards-from-facial-hair-history/

[55] How To Cook and Carve a Thanksgiving Turkey Like a Man: http://www.artofmanliness.com/2008/11/20/how-to-cook-and-carve-a-thanksgiving-turkey-like-a-man/

[56] Growing a Manly Beard: http://www.artofmanliness.com/2008/11/28/growing-a-manly-beard/

[57] Three Steps to Building Your Individual Style: http://www.artofmanliness.com/2008/11/11/your-individual-style/

[58] The Art of Manliness Manly Holiday Gift Guide: http://www.artofmanliness.com/2008/12/08/gifts-for-men/

[59] 6 Holiday Style Tips For Men: http://www.artofmanliness.com/2008/12/04/6-tips-holidays-style/

[60] How To End a Relationship Like a Man: http://www.artofmanliness.com/2008/12/16/how-to-break-up/

[61] 25 of the Greatest Self-Made Men in American History: http://www.artofmanliness.com/2008/12/28/self-made-men/

[62] Every Man Needs Adventure: http://www.artofmanliness.com/2008/12/11/every-man-needs-adventure/

[63] archives: http://www.artofmanliness.com/archives/

Copyright 2010 The Art of Manliness. All rights reserved.